Dare To Be Healthy

New Year Detox 2013

Posted on: January 28, 2013

Health

Health is Wealth

Hey folks, hope you’re all good and keeping up with your New Year’s resolutions to get healthy and lose weight this year! Oh wow, it’s almost the end of January already – I figure a few people might have or are on the verge of giving up on the healthy living – please don’t, you’re doing so well!It’s been a busy start to the year for me so wasn’t able to start my detox right at the beginning of the year. Have now started…better late than never, and will be writing about the experience during the process for the next 3 days. Did I mention, you’ll be in need of the bathroom all day, you will have the urge to wee (urinate – one way our bodies get rid of toxins) a lot, so do this when you know you’ll be home most of the time.

Here’s my first day!

Day 1 of detox

My first day of detox was a tough one for me which was surprising as I tend to detox at least one day a month. I had the urge to actually quit half way through the day but stuck it out with all the willpower I could muster up. I started the day with a glass of warm water and a squeeze of fresh lemon juice which I usually do every morning.

So what am I juicing today? Green juice, it’s had to be – even though there is   a specific juice I make for my detox, I decided to start with that and change it up slightly each day. Here’s the recipe which can be found in my book “Healing Foods Healthy Foods” called cleanse smoothie:

2 handfuls of kale

1 cucumber

5 celery sticks

1 inch ginger

1 lemon

½ yellow bell pepper

Here’s what the ingredients contain and how they help cleanse you:

Ginger: is high in antioxidants and also has anti-inflammatory properties. Ginger contains ginerol, a compound that is thought to relax blood vessels, stimulate blood flow and relieve pain. Ginger also helps to ease congestion and cleanses the body.

Kale: has anti-inflammatory, anti-cancer and antioxidant properties. It is packed full of fibre, vitamins A, C, E, K, B vitamins, copper, magnesium, iron, calcium and copper.

Cucumber: is a very good source of vitamins A and C, and folic acid. The skin is rich in fibre and a variety of minerals including magnesium and potassium. Cucumber is a top choice as a diuretic. It can help control constipation, stomach disorders and acne.

Celery: is high in vitamin A, B1, B2, B6 and C, and ample supply of potassium, folic acid, calcium, magnesium, iron and essential amino acids. Celery helps flush the body of excessive carbon dioxide and reduces acidity.

Lemon: is a powerful antiseptic and anti-microbial, which destroys bacteria in your mouth and intestines while clearing mucous build up. High in vitamin C, they will support your liver, improve your absorption of minerals, promote weight loss, cleanse your blood, and alleviate indigestion.

Yellow bell pepper is packed full of vitamins B and C, beta-carotene, folic acid, potassium, iron, calcium and magnesium. Good for cleansing the liver and intestines.

I have left out the apple this time as I didn’t want to sweeten the juice, it actually tasted ok! Juice the lot in a blender or juicer (you’ll need to add some water if making in a blender). I tend to make about a litre of it or enough to last me the whole day. In between I drink a lot of water, green/detox teas to really cleanse out my system.

Towards the end of the day, I had a green salad with extra virgin olive oil and lime dressing. I have to go through the action of actually chewing something cause my body from experience refuses to function otherwise (will not be able to sleep)!  Woohoo…so proud of myself I got through the first day and didn’t give up!

Peace and Fabulous Health!

1 Response to "New Year Detox 2013"

Leave a Reply

Share this blog

Bookmark and Share

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

About

Categories

Archives

Twitter Updates

