Dare To Be Healthy

Vitamix – My new awesome kitchen appliance!

Posted on: April 11, 2013

Popeye PowerPopeye Power2So here’s my new kitchen toy, VITAMIX, woohoo!! I have wanted this product for such a long time and since getting it, I have been making smoothies, ice cream, sorbets (no judging, I know it hasn’t exactly been great weather for cold stuff – indulge me) and soups. I’m getting ready to start making my own almond milk, sauces, nut butters etc. Mega exciting stuff!!

The vitamix came just in the nick of time – my smoothie maker had just given up on me. So the first thing I made with it was my awesome, yummy green smoothie – here’s the recipe with pictures to boot!! I also made a fabulous mango ice cream, recipe to follow, and will be posting more recipes I make with this fab, fab product, so keep checking back.

The great thing about the vitamix is that it’s quite versatile for a blender. You can make smoothies, ice cream, sorbets, soups (actually heats up), bread mix (which I will be trying out soon) and sauces. It’s so easy to use and clean, and here’s the absolute best part – it comes with seven years warranty. Is that cool or what?!! Anyway enough of me going on, here’s the smoothie recipe.

Mega Fibre Smoothie
4 broccoli florets
Handful spinach
½ cucumber
1 apple
Inch ginger
1 lime
Cup of water
1 tsp. milled flaxseed (I use Linwoods brand)

Put the lot in your juicer or blender (vitamix) except the flaxseed and juice. Pour in a glass, add the flaxseed, mix thoroughly and enjoy!

10 Responses to "Vitamix – My new awesome kitchen appliance!"

Just curious, why don’t you blend the flax seed? I think it can pass through your system undigested if you don’t break it open….

Hi Adam,

You’re right about breaking the flaxseed down. I use Linwoods milled flaxseed which I should have made clear in my article. Will update it now. Thanks for stopping by.

That makes more sense. One other thought is that I prefer using whole seeds (added to the Vitamix) because they stay fresh much longer. Milled flax is more prone to going rancid, and I haven’t found any downside to using the whole seeds. Chia seeds are great too.

congrats on your vitamix purchase!

if i may comment on the thread below me, be careful with putting chia seeds in the smoothie. drink it right away otherwise it will congeal and be very difficult to drink – hA! 🙂

Thx for the comment but recipe includes flaxseeds not chia seeds.

I saw that Gloria 🙂 I was commenting on what Adam said… I should’ve just worded it that way in the first place 🙂 have a great day!

wooo awesome product.

You made some good points there. I looked on the net for additional information
about the issue and found most individuals will go along with
your views on this site.

We need water at the cellular level in order to transport nutrients,
haul away wastes and toxins and conduct the electrical impulses that keep
us running. To prepare for the procedure patient’s will consume a
medicine that helps to flush out bowels because they
must be empty for the procedure. The Potato Museum’s mission is to educate the world about the potato.

Leave a Reply

Share this blog

Bookmark and Share

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

About

Categories

Archives

Twitter Updates

